Напечатать текст Напечатать текст

A Story about the Squadron’s Ship Bell and the Supercrafty Couple

The squadron’s ship bell

The squadron’s ship bell

In 2011 the “Carabela” squadron will be 50. We have started to get prepared for this significant event since 2009. We sort the photos, reread log-books of the previous years and the texts of the squadron’s wall newspapers. We find interesting materials, which we want to share with you, our faithful reader. On the 30th of March, 2009, the commodore of the squadron found the materials of an old special edition of the “Ankerok” newspaper for the Children Centre “Artek” on her computer.

“One day Igor Litvinov was running through the squadron annoying everyone with the question what the “ship bell” (Note: in Russian it is called “rynda”) was”. He ran and ran, but found out nothing. Finally Larisa came and called everyone to the lesson on History of Fleet. And here was Igor with his question. Do you think Larisa got caught and started to answer Igor’s tricky question? Of course, you don’t think so, because all of you, respected readers, know what a crafty person Larisa Krapivina is. And if Larisa is in Seva Domozhirov’s company they become a supercrafty couple!

In response to Igor’ question Larisa said nothing, but asked us several other questions. I could hardly imagine the answer to only one of them: “Do you think the word “ryndal” is a loanword or an indigenous Russian professional word?”. Do you feel, how fetched up we were!!! There were also other “posers”. For example, this one: “What etymological roots Russian people can find in the word “rynda?”.

When we started to whine and said that we knew nothing about the roots, Larisa immediately sent us to dictionaries and reference books. And then we had a conference devoted to the topic “Where “rynda” came from or English roots in Sea Science”.

All of us had to leaf through dictionaries, find roots and read books. On the whole, my friends, I ask you to be very cautious, when you go to the lessons with the commodore and not to come up unprepared with your questions not cleared up yet. Especially if you have no idea how to answer them.

And of course Igor Litvinov was fetched up more than the others. In addition to everything Seva gave him the editorial task to tell the squadron what “rynda” was, using the latest achievements in information technology.»

The bell (rynda“) is the word that was “photographed”

For those, who don’t now, I’ll explain: “rynda” is the bell on a ship with the help of which the signals are given. It’s surprising that the bell is called this way only here in Russia.

When we looked into a clever historical reference book, we saw that the tsar’s bodyguards were called this way before Peter I. So how did those bodyguards appear on ships and why were they “zealously stricken” (because it is accepted to strike the “rynda” and not ring it) there.

It turned out that everything is ridiculously simple. In English it sounds like “to ring the bell”. And our beginning seafarers with their peculiar artlessness, as Larisa said, “modeled”, or “photographed” and then borrowed into our language the whole phrase, so it started to designate only one concrete word.

Since that old times the word has taken roots in the navy. And then it came to “Carabela”. Our “rynda”, as is known, subordinates the whole squadron. One strike – and the watch commander will run to you. Two strikes – everyone runs to the formation; three strikes – everyone hurries to watch a film, and if there are many loud strikes that means “alarm”! But I don’t advise you to experiment with it and call this watch commander without a reason. You can get into trouble.

Of course, such a great thing needs love, cleaning and striking it beautifully and melodically.

Igor Litvinov

That kind of story might happen if you meet the supercrafty couple in the squadron!

Aleksandra Dolinova, the press-centre of the “Carabela” squadron

Photos from “Carabela’s” archieves


Навигация по записям

Предыдущий пост:     ←
Следующий пост:    

Оставить свой комментарий

Напечатать текст Напечатать текст

История об отрядной рынде и суперковарной парочке

Отрядная рында

Отрядная рында

В 2011 году отряду «Каравелла» исполнится 50 лет. К этому знаменательному событию мы начали готовиться с приходом 2009 года. Разбираем фотографии, перечитываем вахтенные журналы прошлых лет и материалы в стенных газетах отряда. Находим уникальные материалы, которыми стараемся делиться с тобой, наш верный читатель. 30 марта 2009 года командор нашла на компьютере материалы из давнего спецвыпуска газеты «АНКЕРОК» для МДЦ «АРТЕК».

«Однажды Игорь Литвинов бегал по отряду и доставал всех вопросом, что такое «рында». Бегал-бегал, так ничего и не узнал. Наконец, пришла Лариса и позвала всех на «историю флота». А Игорь тут как тут со своим вопросом. И что, вы думаете, Лариса «попалась» и стала отвечать Игорю на его каверзный вопрос? Конечно, вы так не думаете, потому что вы все, уважаемые читатели, знаете, какой коварный человек Лариса Крапивина. А если Лариса ещё и в компании с Севой Доможировым! Это же просто суперковарная парочка!

В ответ на вопрос Игоря Лариса ничего не ответила, а задала нам несколько других вопросов. Я с трудом представлял ответ лишь на один «Как вы думаете «рында» заимствованное или исконно русское профессиональное слово?». Чувствуете, как мы попали!!! Там ещё были и другие «зачудительные» вопросы. Например, такой: «Какие этимологические корни мы русские люди можем предположительно выделить у слова рында?»

Когда мы заныли и сказали, что про корни ничего не знаем, Лариса тут же отправила нас к словарям и справочникам. А потом мы провели целую конференцию на тему: «Откуда взялась рында или английские корни в морской науке».

Пришлось всем нам листать словари, искать корни, читать книжки. В общем, товарищи, я вас прошу, быть очень осмотрительными, когда вы идёте на занятия к командору, и не вылезать неподготовленными со своими непрояснёнными вопросами. Особенно, если вы абсолютно не представляете ответа на них.

А, Игорь Литвинов попал, конечно, круче всех. Ему Сева ещё и задание дал редакционное, чтобы он, используя последние достижения информационных технологий, всему отряду рассказал о том, что такое рында!»

РЫНДА – слово, которое «сфотографировали»

Для тех, кто не знает, объясняю: «рында» – это колокол на корабле, с помощью которого подаются сигналы. Удивительно то, что так колокол называют только у нас в России.

Когда мы посмотрели в одном умном историческом справочнике, то увидели, что рындами до Петра I называли царских телохранителей. Как же эти самые телохранители оказались на кораблях и почему же их там стали «усердно бить» (ведь в рынду именно бьют, а не звонят).

Оказывается, всё до смешного просто. На английском языке «звонить в колокол» произносится «ring the bell». Вот наши начинающие мореходы, со свойственным им простодушием, как сказала Лариса, «скалькировали», то есть «сфотографировали» и заимствовали в наш язык целую фразу, а обозначать она стала только одно вполне конкретное слово.

С тех давних пор название прижилось на флоте. А потом пришло и к нам в «Каравеллу». Наша рында, как известно, подчиняет себе весь отряд. Один удар в неё – и сразу к вам прибежит ком.вахты. Два удара – все бегут на построение; три удара – все мчатся смотреть кино, а если сразу много и громко, значит, тревога! Но не советую вам экспериментировать и вызывать этого ком.вахты просто так без дела. Можно и схлопотать неприятности.

Конечно, такую замечательную вещь нужно любить, чистить и красиво, мелодично отбивать удары.

Игорь ЛИТВИНОВ

Вот такая может случиться история, если ты встретил в отряде суперковарную парочку!

Александра ДОЛИНОВА, пресс-центр отряда «Каравелла»

фото из архива отряда «Каравелла»


Навигация по записям

Предыдущий пост:     ←
Следующий пост: